Why Good SAT Scores Can Mean More Money

Your student can be worth a bundle of money.
Yep. I’m crass and protective about my money going to college officials who smile all the way to their banks. That’s why I make sure my coaching students do what I suggest to increase their SAT or ACT scores. Your higher-scoring student can save you thousands of dollars. Colleges will even bribe your student to attend, even if you don’t qualify for “I-need-more-money” aid (need-based). Be on the offensive with outrageously expensive colleges (although prices seem to be coming down at the private colleges).

A small increase in test scores can mean a huge savings.
College websites will tell you what their requirements are for more grant money (read: discount). For example, a typical college’s Dean Scholarship will require that your student be in the top 20% of the graduating class and have a minimum SAT score of, say, 1200 (excluding the writing section). That means a savings to the parent of around $6,000 each year for four years as long as the student maintains the college’s required minimum GPA. Are there any exceptions?

Accept the rules.
If your student is in the top 1% with a score of 1190, forget it. The rules are very strict, wth no exceptions. But an increase of 10 SAT points could mean the savings of a full semester at a private college. Now that’s a rule I can live with.

Forget the debate about “fairness.”
I speak to a lot of people in my business who, for the most part, pound their chests about the unfairness of these tests, that they don’t truly measure the intelligence of the student. Okay, I get it, but it misses the point. Colleges don’t care that a low SAT score isn’t fair, or subject to the whims of nature (the student is sick on the night before the test, or is having her period). Colleges want to know how you measure up to other students all across the country on the same exact test. Period. End of discussion. The attitude of colleges seems cruel: Get over it.

That some colleges don’t require the standardized test scores is another discussion, one that makes these colleges look woefully disingenuous.

The Bottom Line
Your student needs to increase his or her test scores. It’s all about the money and one other reality which I’ll discuss next week. Plus, I’ll give you the SAT strategy that works very well with my students. 
_________
I would appreciate any comments you can offer. And please feel free to join my Facebook group here.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

